Presidential Address and
Awards Ceremony

Friday, April 1, 5:00 p.m.
Hawai`i Convention Center
Kalakaua Ballroom C, Level 4

“Environment, Law, and Democracy in India”
AAS President, K. (Shivi) Sivaramakrishnan, Yale University

  • AAS Award for Distinguished Contributions to Asian Studies to be presented to Sumit Sarkar, Professor Emeritus, Delhi University
  • The Franklin Buchanan Award given by the Committee on Teaching About Asia (CTA)
  • The AAS Book Prizes include: Coomaraswamy (South Asia); Benda, Kahin (Southeast Asia); Hall (Japan); Palais (Korea); and two Levenson prizes (China and Inner Asia)
  • The ICAS Book Prizes include: Best Study Humanities and Social Sciences; AAS President Colleagues Choice Award; and Best PhD Humanities and Social Sciences